The Fire Marshal’s Association of Utah [FMAU] was organized in 1978 by Eldon Marshall, Salt Lake City Fire Department, David Pingree, State Fire Marshal’s Office, and Brent Halladay, Orem Fire Department.

These fire professionals recognized the need for a group to address issues of Fire Prevention. The first few meetings were held at the Salt Lake City Fire Department.

Since that time, FMAU is 102 members strong and includes Fire Marshals, Fire Chiefs, and Fire Inspectors, as well as associate members representing the automatic fire sprinkler industry, fire alarm industry, fireworks industry, and others.

Web Page:

Current Membership (2011): Approximately 102

Meeting Dates: Chapter meetings are held the second Tuesday of: January, March, May, September, and November. Our November meeting is when the election of chapter officers occurs.

Education Meetings: Education Meetings/Seminars are held the second Tuesday of: February, April, June, August, and October. These meetings/seminars last from 9:00 a.m. to noon or 5:00 p.m.

Annual Meeting: Our Annual Chapter Meeting and Conference is held in conjunction with the Utah Winter Fire School and the Utah Fire and Rescue Academy. This meeting is held the second week in January, in St. George, UT, and lasts 2-3 days. During this conference, chapter business is discussed and training seminars are held.

General Report: FMAU is an organization open to members of the fire service, private industry, and allied professionals who have an interest in fire and life safety.

FMAU’s mission is to promote and enhance fire and life safety through the codes and standards development process, and to support statewide education for fire prevention professionals, by being involved in the development of state and local legislation.

Educational Institute: FMAU members are provided instruction on a variety of fire protection related topics during the Annual Chapter Conference hosted by the Utah Fire & Rescue Academy, as well as through additional seminars throughout the year.

Code Development Committee: Chaired by Scott Adams, Fire Marshal with the Park City Fire District. There are an additional eight FMAU members on this committee:

Mark E. Burton, Utah State Fire Marshal Office
Craig Humphreys, Logan City Fire Department
Boyd Johnson, Unified Fire Authority
Dennis D. Moss, Brigham Young University
Phil Roberts, Murray City Fire Department
Matt B. Schwenk, Ogden City Fire Department
Casey T. Vorwaller, Orem City Public Safety

FMAU works closely with building officials in coordinating the development of building and fire codes in the IFC, IBC, and NFPA code development processes.

The State of Utah currently has adopted the 2009 edition of the IBC and IFC, as well as the 2010 editions of NFPA 13, 13D, 13R, and 72.

Education Committee: Chaired by 2nd vice President, Lynn Schofield.  This committee is active in providing educational opportunities for our membership. The Education Committee also presents additional educational programs throughout the year based on feedback from the members.